top of page
  • Writer's pictureJodi

Beautiful Blooms Come in Patience, Persistence, and His Perfect Timing

I am proud to say that I have been patiently waiting for these beauties to burst.


Why am I proud? Well, first off, I’m not a patient person. The hibiscus tree is from last summer, and instead of pitching it at the end of the season like I typically do, I committed to bringing it inside and keeping it alive. I’m proud I didn’t waste it; I’m proud I kept it alive; and I am proud I persisted. I watered, pruned, and fertilized and was just about to give up on it when I noticed the tiny bud....patience, persistence, His perfect timing.


Now, for the hydrangea...this bush has a long and rather boring story. I planted it at least 10 years ago, and other than it’s first season, it has never bloomed!?!? I was about to dig it up and plant more hosta, but something urged me to keep it. So year after year, I wished for big purplish-pink blooms to burst forth and always ended up settling for the pretty green leaves. I figured this summer would be more of the same-until I noticed the pale pink buds peeking out from under the greenery...patience, persistence, His perfect timing.


I noticed these buds the morning my family and I were leaving for vacation. I was elated! Over simple flower buds, you ask!?! Yes, yes I was! I had been hoping, day after day, year after year, for these plants to bloom. While we were away, I kept wondering about them...


As we pulled into our driveway today, my eyes locked on my hardworking, never give up hydrangea, and there they were- three big, beautiful, bold blooms. I hopped out of the car and raced to our back patio to be greeted by the vibrant, hibiscus blooms!


Dramatic? Maybe.... but I know God was teaching me. He was showing me that patience and persistence are essential traits to embody. If we don’t carry these traits with us, we may give up and throw away invaluable opportunities, experiences, or relationships. God is always at work. In the deep, dark soil beneath the surface where we can’t see- there is growing-it may be slow but it’s there.


The same goes for us. He is always pruning, watering, and tending to the beauty and growth of our souls. All He asks is that we have patience, persistence, and trust His perfect timing.


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page